Checking

Personal Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

PSECU's goal is to provide members 12 years of age or older with hassle-free, no fee, dividend-earning checking.

Benefits Include

Features

Earning Dividends

No minimum balance is required in your PSECU Checking to earn dividends (what you may think of as "interest"). PSECU uses the average daily balance to calculate dividends. Under this system, a periodic rate is applied to the average daily balance in the account for each day in the dividend period.

Accessing Monthly Statements

Your monthly statement details all your checking transactions, along with your other credit union shares and loans. The checking portion of the statement lists your deposits, cleared checks, ATM and PSECU Visa® debit card transactions, automatic transfers, Bill Payer, Self-Service Telephone (SST) and psecu@home® online account access transactions.

Viewing Checks Online

If you are a psecu@home® user, online check imaging allows you to access copies of your cleared checks from your home computer. Simply click and print a copy of your check when needed. Should you need us to provide a copy of your cleared check, we'll be happy to supply a copy for a $1 service charge per check.

Joint Checking

For those sharing household or other expenses, PSECU offers joint checking. Each co-owner has equal access to the account. Just complete the joint owner information on the application and have all joint owners sign. Please note that joint owners are not automatically PSECU members. They must open an individual PSECU account to enjoy all the benefits of membership.

Overdraft Protection Transfer Service

PSECU will automatically transfer the funds needed to clear a check if there isn't enough in your Checking Shares. This amount must be available in your Regular Shares, Money Market or Personal Service Loan (PSL), depending on the option you choose.

Simply select one of the seven combinations of overdraft options on the checking application. The only restriction to these options is that they are limited to shares / loans under the same member's account number. PSL overdraft is only available if you have an established line of credit. It is subject to your existing credit limit and current loan policy. If you do not choose an option, PSECU will automatically set up overdraft from your Regular Shares.

PSECU limits overdraft transfers from Regular Shares and Money Market to six per month. Because of this restriction, Regular Shares and Money Market overdraft protection transfer service should only be used in case you miscalculate your checking balance.

Important: When using debit, with PSECU Visa debit card, you must have available funds in your checking account or your transaction will be declined. overdraft protection transfer service does not apply to debit transactions.

Rates valid as of 12/13/2017 3:57 PM

DescriptionAPY*Dividend
Checking.10%.10%
Money Market.20%.20%
Reg / Vacation / Christmas / S5 / IRA.15%.15%
Youth Savings Program1.50%1.49%
*APY denotes Annual Percentage Yield

Rates, and information, are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular Share Accounts require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY.

*FICO® and Fair Isaac® are registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in the United States, and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in other countries. PSECU is not a credit reporting agency. Fair Isaac is not an affiliate company of PSECU. Members must have PSECU checking or a PSECU loan to be eligible for this service. Joint Owners are not eligible.

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too onerous a procesd I tried to set up a direct deposit for a new account, however, my account number was not provided. I spent close to a half hour online and the phone trying to obtain this information. Sorry it's just not worth this amount of trouble. I will be closing my accounts.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful never had such helpful people from a bank. from the person who introduced the bank to me (at a state worker training) to the person i spoke to on the phone. and ive never even been to a location.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Customer Service I am always thrilled by how polite and kind the customer service reps are in addition to being knowledgeable. I am also very pleased with the new VISA founders card and the rewards program. PSECU takes excellent care of their members!!! The online services are easy to use too!!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service no huge fees like other banks! Love my PSECU accounts- service is always exceptional!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Banking is all online or smartphone, PSECU is the As technology grows, opportunity grows.PSECU is always on that cutting edge, applying technology to new. With PSECU comes change for efficiencies, effectiveness, and customer loyalty. My favorite PSECU innovation is to be able to make deposits using my smartphone and within seconds I learn if the check was accepted or not. Thank you PSECU, you make banking so much easier, efficient, and secure.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Founders Credit Cards I see PSECU is offering a cash back Founders credit card. They have an asterisk to tell us what purchases are included. It then says to look at the prgrams terms and conditions information sheet. However none of the 4 disclosures even mention the 1.5%, and which purchases get 1.5% and which don't. I'm thinking about opening up a new card, but I need to know what the exemptions are, before paying the credit agencies to unlock my credit information.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from People man, people! I can say that I have had only 1 bad experience with one rep, and that was today. The other two people I spoke with were very well informed and clearly wanted to figure out what was going on. One bad apple and all. But overall great service.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product No experience yet, New memberHope to have good experience
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service had no problems very nice know several people that deal with PSECU they say they are great to deal with
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU is the best!!! We've been banking with PSECU for twenty(20) years now. We have never had an issue, of any kind. Always a positive experience. Anyone that can bank with PSECU should do so.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Eveything PSECU is an amazing credit union. They have always led the field in technology services, have friendly, efficient Member Services, and offer a great variety of products and services. They are the only financial institution you need!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot ask for much more. No hassle checking and savings accounts. Wonderful service.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't have survived without thePSECU! The PSECU has been there for me for me for over 20 years. I started with the DOC with no money saves, and no credit score. With excellent auto loans, personal loans and easily accessible cash, I have managed to prosper, get ahead and retire in comfort. Too this day I have never actually met an employee of the Union. Thank you for being there for me
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Credit Union ever! I've been with PSECU for 26 years, and I've never wanted to leave. I've checked out other credit unions, and this is the best by far. What other bank shares profits with you. They will always be the best in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Former member PSECU is great - if you live in the Harrisburg area. There is more to Pennsylvania than just Harrisburg. Up until 1992, I had an account with a credit union in South Carolina. Back then they had 6 branches (they now have more than twice as many). In all of PA, PSECU has just one. They don't know what "shared branching" is. Trying to deposit a check when you are "out of the area" is a joke.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rating I think it is good that it earns dividends and I think it is good that there are no fees.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from car loan I needed to pay my car loan off quickly, PSECU was there, got the loan done and a check sent to me with in a week, every thing was done over the phone, one of the easiest transactions I ever had!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best Way better than any bank. I'm a member of another large local credit union and, while they may have many more branches than PSECU, they fail to put their Members 1st. PSECU has always been very helpful and easy to work with.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from owner you explain things,and if you have a problem you try and solve it.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Candace and Marie are knowledgeable and polite I was not going to join initially as I am already a member of a credit union. But after speaking with the staff at your branch in Northampton Community College (Monroe), I was given all of the information I needed to show that this is a much better fit for me.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Wonderful because they are not taking your money but helping you
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PCO PSP Great financial package and really excited to get all my accounts with PSECU
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loans As a State Employee I expected better. Thankful for my other Bank who was able to work with me after PSECU denied a loan based on a medical insurance bill MISTAKE. This is directed to the loan department who were awful. I would never recommend loan application through PSECU. I felt I Didn't matter as a customer. There was no personal touch, no extra initiative.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU IS THE BEST. This bank is the best I have been a member since 2005 i love it because of easy access online banking, free checking, and the so many great thing it offers.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from account started this as I am a state employee. its good so far. let me wait and see.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall awesome institution I like the constant follow up thru email. It let's me know I'm being well taken care of. Also the ease of banking is a plus.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful The agent was so kind. She had all the answers. I am now less worried about applying for the car loan.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loan I was approved within seconds and didn't realize they sent a check immediately
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Easy to use and customer service was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review Good service. Quick and convenient as it is hard to get to a typical bank during open hours. Love all the online options.
Date published: 2016-09-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT