Checking

Personal Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 143.
  • y_2018, m_6, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 250ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

PSECU's goal is to provide members 12 years of age or older with hassle-free, no fee, dividend-earning checking.

Benefits Include

Features

Earning Dividends

No minimum balance is required in your PSECU Checking to earn dividends (what you may think of as "interest"). PSECU uses the average daily balance to calculate dividends. Under this system, a periodic rate is applied to the average daily balance in the account for each day in the dividend period.

Accessing Monthly Statements

Your monthly statement details all your checking transactions, along with your other credit union shares and loans. The checking portion of the statement lists your deposits, cleared checks, ATM and PSECU Visa® debit card transactions, automatic transfers, Bill Payer, Self-Service Telephone (SST) and psecu@home® online account access transactions.

Viewing Checks Online

If you are a psecu@home® user, online check imaging allows you to access copies of your cleared checks from your home computer. Simply click and print a copy of your check when needed. Should you need us to provide a copy of your cleared check, we'll be happy to supply a copy for a $1 service charge per check.

Joint Checking

For those sharing household or other expenses, PSECU offers joint checking. Each co-owner has equal access to the account. Just complete the joint owner information on the application and have all joint owners sign. Please note that joint owners are not automatically PSECU members. They must open an individual PSECU account to enjoy all the benefits of membership.

Overdraft Protection Transfer Service

PSECU will automatically transfer the funds needed to clear a check if there isn't enough in your Checking Shares. This amount must be available in your Regular Shares, Money Market or Personal Service Loan (PSL), depending on the option you choose.

Simply select one of the seven combinations of overdraft options on the checking application. The only restriction to these options is that they are limited to shares / loans under the same member's account number. PSL overdraft is only available if you have an established line of credit. It is subject to your existing credit limit and current loan policy. If you do not choose an option, PSECU will automatically set up overdraft from your Regular Shares.

PSECU limits overdraft transfers from Regular Shares and Money Market to six per month. Because of this restriction, Regular Shares and Money Market overdraft protection transfer service should only be used in case you miscalculate your checking balance.

Important: When using debit, with PSECU Visa debit card, you must have available funds in your checking account or your transaction will be declined. overdraft protection transfer service does not apply to debit transactions.

Rates valid as of 6/21/2018 3:30 PM

DescriptionAPY*Dividend
Checking.10%.10%
Money Market.20%.20%
Reg / Vacation / Christmas / S5 / IRA.15%.15%
Youth Savings Program1.50%1.49%
*APY denotes Annual Percentage Yield

Rates, and information, are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular Share Accounts require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY.

*FICO® and Fair Isaac® are registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in the United States, and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in other countries. PSECU is not a credit reporting agency. Fair Isaac is not an affiliate company of PSECU. Members must have PSECU checking or a PSECU loan to be eligible for this service. Joint Owners are not eligible.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful Incredibly easy to set up and to transfer funds. Smooth process and had great help all the way through the process.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from visa this was a very simple process from start to finish
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great benefit! Just joined after months of co-workers telling me it is one of their favorite products and they were right!
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Account sign up, car loan PSECU makes everything so easy, quick and convenient.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Auto loan Great customer service, process took a bit to long, but worth the savings
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jackie Good accessibility free checking low interest no ATM fees
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU checking I have had a couple of bank before i joined PSECU. I have had nothing but problems with the other bank i belonged to, from my cards getting hacked to them not putting the correct amount of money in my account when i make a deposit etc. From day one at PSECU they have been nothing but wonderful to me.They made a phone call to me, asking if i had any questions. I called them when i had a questions on their mortgage loan and the lady i got in the mortgage department really took her time with me and explained in detailed how everything worked. I have never gotten that from a bank before. I plan on being a member over my life time.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I never have any real problems and if I need to change something like the spending limit, the customer service is friendly and knowledgable
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU Review-Savings Account Service I recently lost my card and the process for deactivating the card and getting a new one was very effective.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I enjoy being able to use my debit card at atms and not have to pay a fee.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place It's great because it works for me . There's no fees and free arm
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience I appreciated the ease and overall process involved with financing my vehicle.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great services Very easy to use with a lot of features. I love it
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I like that I can deposit checks from home and there is no minimum
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing institution! Easy to enroll, great rates and service. Prompt responses.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bank Great Bank; I opened since the bank was on my college campus and I love it.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, I would recommend it. With Pescu I can pay my bills and fix my credit for my babies future.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service Great service ....…................................
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Service PSECU puts my previous bank to shame. I have recommended them to family and friends and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service This account is my first checking account, but it's so easy to use and very convenient! It was easy to set up by just applying online and a quick trip to their office. My card and checks came in the mail within a week of setting up the account, and the mobile deposit feature is extremely useful.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Great because there are no hassles or fees for checks used, etc.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great no fee banking Came thru with all promised incentives. Easy banking with minimal fees. Competitive interest rates.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & convenient The process was easy and employees were vwry helpful
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staff was great through the whole process The whole process and staff were very nice and helpful
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great security I do not have 50 characters worth of an explanation.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use and join . offers competitive rates. Need more ATM availability
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Love it, friendly staff, quick responses to form and documents
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PSECU CARD The card and app are great. The only thing in the way is that it is complicated to reload your card.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay This product is not great for my area. I cant make cash deposits through the mail and there are no locations close to where I live.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU Banking Great rates, service, communication, etc....just would like more places I could deposit and withdraw. Currently I have to withdraw and deposit in two different banks.
Date published: 2016-06-23
  • y_2018, m_6, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT