Checking

Personal Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

PSECU's goal is to provide members 12 years of age or older with hassle-free, no fee, dividend-earning checking.

Benefits Include

Features

Earning Dividends

No minimum balance is required in your PSECU Checking to earn dividends (what you may think of as "interest"). PSECU uses the average daily balance to calculate dividends. Under this system, a periodic rate is applied to the average daily balance in the account for each day in the dividend period.

Accessing Monthly Statements

Your monthly statement details all your checking transactions, along with your other credit union shares and loans. The checking portion of the statement lists your deposits, cleared checks, ATM and PSECU Visa® debit card transactions, automatic transfers, Bill Payer, Self-Service Telephone (SST) and psecu@home® online account access transactions.

Viewing Checks Online

If you are a psecu@home® user, online check imaging allows you to access copies of your cleared checks from your home computer. Simply click and print a copy of your check when needed. Should you need us to provide a copy of your cleared check, we'll be happy to supply a copy for a $1 service charge per check.

Joint Checking

For those sharing household or other expenses, PSECU offers joint checking. Each co-owner has equal access to the account. Just complete the joint owner information on the application and have all joint owners sign. Please note that joint owners are not automatically PSECU members. They must open an individual PSECU account to enjoy all the benefits of membership.

Overdraft Protection Transfer Service

PSECU will automatically transfer the funds needed to clear a check if there isn't enough in your Checking Shares. This amount must be available in your Regular Shares, Money Market or Personal Service Loan (PSL), depending on the option you choose.

Simply select one of the seven combinations of overdraft options on the checking application. The only restriction to these options is that they are limited to shares / loans under the same member's account number. PSL overdraft is only available if you have an established line of credit. It is subject to your existing credit limit and current loan policy. If you do not choose an option, PSECU will automatically set up overdraft from your Regular Shares.

PSECU limits overdraft transfers from Regular Shares and Money Market to six per month. Because of this restriction, Regular Shares and Money Market overdraft protection transfer service should only be used in case you miscalculate your checking balance.

Important: When using debit, with PSECU Visa debit card, you must have available funds in your checking account or your transaction will be declined. overdraft protection transfer service does not apply to debit transactions.

Rates valid as of 12/13/2017 3:58 PM

DescriptionAPY*Dividend
Checking.10%.10%
Money Market.20%.20%
Reg / Vacation / Christmas / S5 / IRA.15%.15%
Youth Savings Program1.50%1.49%
*APY denotes Annual Percentage Yield

Rates, and information, are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular Share Accounts require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY.

*FICO® and Fair Isaac® are registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in the United States, and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in other countries. PSECU is not a credit reporting agency. Fair Isaac is not an affiliate company of PSECU. Members must have PSECU checking or a PSECU loan to be eligible for this service. Joint Owners are not eligible.

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I enjoy being able to use my debit card at atms and not have to pay a fee.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place It's great because it works for me . There's no fees and free arm
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience I appreciated the ease and overall process involved with financing my vehicle.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great services Very easy to use with a lot of features. I love it
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I like that I can deposit checks from home and there is no minimum
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing institution! Easy to enroll, great rates and service. Prompt responses.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bank Great Bank; I opened since the bank was on my college campus and I love it.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, I would recommend it. With Pescu I can pay my bills and fix my credit for my babies future.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service Great service ....…................................
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Service PSECU puts my previous bank to shame. I have recommended them to family and friends and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service This account is my first checking account, but it's so easy to use and very convenient! It was easy to set up by just applying online and a quick trip to their office. My card and checks came in the mail within a week of setting up the account, and the mobile deposit feature is extremely useful.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Great because there are no hassles or fees for checks used, etc.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great no fee banking Came thru with all promised incentives. Easy banking with minimal fees. Competitive interest rates.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & convenient The process was easy and employees were vwry helpful
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staff was great through the whole process The whole process and staff were very nice and helpful
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great security I do not have 50 characters worth of an explanation.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use and join . offers competitive rates. Need more ATM availability
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Love it, friendly staff, quick responses to form and documents
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PSECU CARD The card and app are great. The only thing in the way is that it is complicated to reload your card.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay This product is not great for my area. I cant make cash deposits through the mail and there are no locations close to where I live.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU Banking Great rates, service, communication, etc....just would like more places I could deposit and withdraw. Currently I have to withdraw and deposit in two different banks.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great account The checks arrived quickly and are neat and easy to read.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deposits The phone features are quick and very easy to use.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome checking This is the easiest checking I have ever dealt with all transactions clear quickly so there is never the question of is my account right
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient Checking I like the free checks and getting a percentage when PSECU does well for the year, even if I don't have much money in my account.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place to bank Very fast reply to application and check came really fast.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Love the few times I went to the back and the low interest rate loans
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service Love PSECU, easy to use online, local atms, no fees!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent products!! Great low/no fee products! Easy access though app and website.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from personal checking and loan checking account opportunities of interest on account/loan low rates
Date published: 2016-06-19
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT