Checking

Personal Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 234ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

PSECU's goal is to provide members 12 years of age or older with hassle-free, no fee, dividend-earning checking.

Benefits Include

Features

Earning Dividends

No minimum balance is required in your PSECU Checking to earn dividends (what you may think of as "interest"). PSECU uses the average daily balance to calculate dividends. Under this system, a periodic rate is applied to the average daily balance in the account for each day in the dividend period.

Accessing Monthly Statements

Your monthly statement details all your checking transactions, along with your other credit union shares and loans. The checking portion of the statement lists your deposits, cleared checks, ATM and PSECU Visa® debit card transactions, automatic transfers, Bill Payer, Self-Service Telephone (SST) and psecu@home® online account access transactions.

Viewing Checks Online

If you are a psecu@home® user, online check imaging allows you to access copies of your cleared checks from your home computer. Simply click and print a copy of your check when needed. Should you need us to provide a copy of your cleared check, we'll be happy to supply a copy for a $1 service charge per check.

Joint Checking

For those sharing household or other expenses, PSECU offers joint checking. Each co-owner has equal access to the account. Just complete the joint owner information on the application and have all joint owners sign. Please note that joint owners are not automatically PSECU members. They must open an individual PSECU account to enjoy all the benefits of membership.

Overdraft Protection Transfer Service

PSECU will automatically transfer the funds needed to clear a check if there isn't enough in your Checking Shares. This amount must be available in your Regular Shares, Money Market or Personal Service Loan (PSL), depending on the option you choose.

Simply select one of the seven combinations of overdraft options on the checking application. The only restriction to these options is that they are limited to shares / loans under the same member's account number. PSL overdraft is only available if you have an established line of credit. It is subject to your existing credit limit and current loan policy. If you do not choose an option, PSECU will automatically set up overdraft from your Regular Shares.

PSECU limits overdraft transfers from Regular Shares and Money Market to six per month. Because of this restriction, Regular Shares and Money Market overdraft protection transfer service should only be used in case you miscalculate your checking balance.

Important: When using debit, with PSECU Visa debit card, you must have available funds in your checking account or your transaction will be declined. overdraft protection transfer service does not apply to debit transactions.

Rates valid as of 12/11/2017 9:27 PM

DescriptionAPY*Dividend
Checking.10%.10%
Money Market.20%.20%
Reg / Vacation / Christmas / S5 / IRA.15%.15%
Youth Savings Program1.50%1.49%
*APY denotes Annual Percentage Yield

Rates, and information, are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular Share Accounts require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY.

*FICO® and Fair Isaac® are registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in the United States, and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of the Fair Isaac Corporation in other countries. PSECU is not a credit reporting agency. Fair Isaac is not an affiliate company of PSECU. Members must have PSECU checking or a PSECU loan to be eligible for this service. Joint Owners are not eligible.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great account It is very easy to use and it is free no minimum Easy to access on line
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Checking It has free checking and free savings account . Easy access day or night .
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bank Bank that cares for its clients and always provides the best service.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product The personal checking is outstanding because -checks are free -you earn interest and -you can access it with online banking.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it So easy to use and wonderful customer service too !
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Banking Great interest rates and credit rating are less important
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review I don't use PSECU for much other than the ATM, visa-debit card, and online banking. 5 stars once I find something else to use and can use it as easily as everything else.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great account love the deposit with cell phone it's so easy and convenient
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product and pays a dividend Simple to use, but lacks the following features found at other institutions: bill pay calendar that shows when the payment will be received (not just sent); instant addition of new payees. Otherwise a good product and great customer service.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product So easy to use good customer service very dependable
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great customer service. Accuracy. I like the various banking options available to members
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I enjoy the convenience of this product. Very flexible.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great the online account is easy to work with and the customer service is good
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Love the mobile deposit app you can check, transfer and deposit in one app
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Abc Great service, great access, no hassle, no ATM fees.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psecu review I'm glad I switched to psecu as my primary bank account!
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets I had an account with another bank before trying PSECU. That account was hard to follow and annoying to deposit/use in general. Once I started college I got PSECU and have no regrets. Easy to use and I feel like I'm a valued member.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best financial institution in the country PSECU provides unprecedented customer service and treat you as family. They can provide you with everything you need and if you are denied based on your own situation they are always professional polite and courteous and offer options! Great job! Don't ever change!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works like I expect Use the app for a majority of my banking and only visit an atm for cash deposits. Everything works like I'd expect and I'm very happy to have moved from the big, fee-charging national bank.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Checking Account I like the online capabilities and the easy access to assistance
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product PSECU checking is great because it needs no minimum balance and is basically free!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best checking account around! With regard to the checking account, I use the debit card 99% of the time. It's so easy and the iPhone app works great! I do everything online so this is perfect for me!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I have had a PSECU checking account for more than 30 years, and love their friendly service, online applications, and no cost features. Thanks for being there for me, PSECU!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Checking This products is great because the interest rate in there products
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bank I truly appreciate the services I receive at PSECU. I love the ease with which I can use my online and mobile accesses to my account. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for credit union.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I love my PSECU checking account. Its simple and easy to use and I love how easy it is to transfer money from checkings to savings. I also like being able to cash my checks with my phone or at certain atm's.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product This product is good because it provides free checks, no min. balance and has no fees.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job As far as basic checking accounts go, it's the best I've had to date.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome business I really enjoy that it is Easy, convince, helpful and free
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love how simple and easy Psecu is I like that I can deposit checks and check everything on my accounts right from my phone. As a mom, this makes things so much easier since it can be difficult to leave the house to go to the bank or local atm.
Date published: 2016-06-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT