Checking Accounts

We make checking simple. We offer just one personal checking account – and it’s free.  No monthly fees. No complicated rules. No hidden charges.

Personal Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

“I have never been able to say I love banking, but PSECU makes it easy. Customer service is fantastic and always helpful.”

- PSECU Member for 5-10 years

 
PSECU Checking: Banking Made Easy

Even if you don’t write many paper checks, a checking account is still one of the most useful financial accounts you can have. Our checking account makes it easy to make and receive payments, without carrying cash. You can also:

  • Take charge of your money: Make as many monthly payments, withdrawals, and deposits as you’d like.
  • Go digital: Use our online & mobile banking services to view your account, remotely deposit checks, pay bills from checking, and connect your account to Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, and the PSECU Wallet.
  • Enjoy 24/7 access: Use money from your checking account anytime, anywhere, with a PSECU debit card. You can also quickly lock and unlock your debit card if it’s lost or stolen.

Checking Features

There’s no minimum balance required for a PSECU checking account. Your account also includes:

  • No fees: No monthly service fees and no minimum balance required to earn dividends**
  • Free checks: Unlimited check-writing privileges and free basic checks, including the use of our mobile deposit service
  • Digital banking: Online & mobile banking account access, including access to check images, e-Statements, and bill payer service
  • Joint checking option: Shared account for two individuals
  • Nationwide ATM usage: Free PSECU account access at nearly 30,000 ATMs nationwide; rebates of up to $20 per month for fees charged by out-of-network ATMs if you have direct deposit with us, or up to $8 monthly without direct deposit
  • Security & peace of mind: Rest easy with our automatic Overdraft Protection Transfer Service, free credit score service***, and account alerts

Already a PSECU member? Log into your account and click Add a Share or Checking Service on your Balances page. 

Debit Card Rewards

Earn cash rewards while using your PSECU debit card. For eligible debit card purchases of $10 or over, you’ll earn either $0.05 or $0.10, based on qualifying factors*.

Learn more
Surcharge-free ATMs

If you use an out-of-network ATM and get charged, we'll rebate fees up to $20 per month with Direct Deposit and up to $8 per month without.

Learn more
Convenient 24/7 access

Take us with you anytime and anywhere with our mobile app. Deposit money, manage your cards, make payments, and stay informed on your finances.

Learn more

Valid as of 09/17/2019 3:41 PM EDT
Description APY* Dividend
Reg / Vacation / Christmas / S5 / IRA 0.15% 0.15%
Checking 0.10% 0.10%
Money Market 0.20% 0.20%
Youth Savings Program 1.50% 1.49%

Rates and information are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular shares require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY. Share accounts that qualify for youth savings rate will earn a higher APY on the first $500 in the account. Balances above the first $500 will accrue interest at the current Regular share rate.

Business Accounts: Business Regular shares require $500 to earn the advertised APY. Business Checking and Money Market accounts require a minimum of $2,500 to earn the advertised APY.

View Truth in Savings Account disclosure at psecu.com/privacy-policies-disclosures/.

*APY denotes Annual Percentage Yield

 

 

FAQs About Our Checking Accounts

To open an account online, you must be at least 13 years old, have a valid form of identification, and Social Security number (SSN) or Tax ID number. 

Refer to the following information for both yourself and any joint account owners:

  • You will need to provide valid form(s) of identification including: driver’s license, state ID, military ID, or passport. If you’re under 18, you’ll also need to provide a copy of your Social Security card. 
  • If you have lived at your current home address less than two years, you’ll need to provide your previous address.
  • To fund your new account(s), you’ll need to provide a credit or debit card.
  • There’s no minimum deposit required to open a checking account. However, if you’re not yet a PSECU member, we’ll need a $5 minimum to open a PSECU savings account and establish your credit union membership. When you open a checking account, your savings account is opened automatically. Learn more about the many ways to become a member. 
Yes. Two or more people can share access to a joint checking account. For account opening requirements, see “What information do I need in order to open a checking account?” You’ll need this identity information for all joint applicants.
Anyone age 13 and older who meets eligibility requirements can open a regular checking account. Learn more about the many ways PSECU helps our youth members save. 
We don’t charge a fee for setting up overdraft protection. Overdraft transfers are also free between your PSECU checking and savings account. However, if you choose to use a credit card to protect your checking account from being overdrawn, those overdraft transfers are considered cash advances. Refer to your credit card agreement for fees and charges related to cash advances.

Give us a call. One of our live, U.S.-based customer service representatives can help you get started. Call us Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. (ET), and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (ET), at:

  • 800.237.7328, nationwide (USA)
  • 717.255.1760, outside the USA; not a toll-free number; normal charges apply
 
To reorder the same style check, log into your account and go to "My Profile," then "Check reorder" from the left menu. To choose a different check style, browse the images here and call us at 800.237.7328, extension 3134.
Online Savings
Digital banking
Credit Cards
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Credit Union Been a member since the mid-1980s and can't calculate the fees, special services, etc. NOT charged. PSECU has been a blessing as our family grew; now three generations are members because of the mid-80s invitation to join. ALWAYS excellent service, helpful advice, and total fiscal responsibility ... ALL ways!
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Credit Union PSECU So helpful in so many ways. Always easy to make contact with and very professional employees.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psecu It all in one banking. So convenient Best online service!
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed Help getting back on site Everyone is so helpful, the young lady who helped me was, virtuous and very helpful. Yes, I would recommend to others. I have a few friends who are in also.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Customer service My account isn't even open yet. I just signed a new car loan through a dealer. Just tried calling to get things set up. A women was very nasty and rude. Yelling over the phone and kept cutting me off when trying to speak.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product! This is great product I would recommend this product to my friends And family!
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Love overdraft protection , no fee and offers for low interest loans...
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, free and easy! Fast, free and easy...............................
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience I have banked here for over 20 years. I have never really had any problem that I was not able to get help with. I live over 2 hours away from Harrisburg, but I have only had one ocassion where I went there for anything related to my banking. They have great rates, helpful people and are very convenient. One time they even helped with an issue at an ATM where the machine did not give me the proper amount it said it did. PSECU credited me and worked with the other institution to correct the issue. I would recommend them to anyone.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I did an online loan application and ended up needing a lot of assistance. The associates with whom I spoke were always helpful and pleasant.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome this is my first banking experience i like it and i love it
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service Been a member 30+ years---Can't say enough good things about PSECU.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bank I have never been able to say I love banking but PSECU makes it easy. Customer service is fantastic and always helpful. Rates are amazing and they treat their shareholders like family. Nothing compares to this bank.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from checking Easy to apply, Hours of avail are excellent, helpfulness of staff is awesome
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever I have been a member for over 20 years. This is the best financial institution I have ever used. I feel like they care about my families finances and always try to help. I have never been inside the office, and have been able to do everything online. What a convenience!
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review Easy to deal with, Great people, Great rates and products
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too onerous a procesd I tried to set up a direct deposit for a new account, however, my account number was not provided. I spent close to a half hour online and the phone trying to obtain this information. Sorry it's just not worth this amount of trouble. I will be closing my accounts.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful never had such helpful people from a bank. from the person who introduced the bank to me (at a state worker training) to the person i spoke to on the phone. and ive never even been to a location.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Customer Service I am always thrilled by how polite and kind the customer service reps are in addition to being knowledgeable. I am also very pleased with the new VISA founders card and the rewards program. PSECU takes excellent care of their members!!! The online services are easy to use too!!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service no huge fees like other banks! Love my PSECU accounts- service is always exceptional!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Banking is all online or smartphone, PSECU is the As technology grows, opportunity grows.PSECU is always on that cutting edge, applying technology to new. With PSECU comes change for efficiencies, effectiveness, and customer loyalty. My favorite PSECU innovation is to be able to make deposits using my smartphone and within seconds I learn if the check was accepted or not. Thank you PSECU, you make banking so much easier, efficient, and secure.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Founders Credit Cards I see PSECU is offering a cash back Founders credit card. They have an asterisk to tell us what purchases are included. It then says to look at the prgrams terms and conditions information sheet. However none of the 4 disclosures even mention the 1.5%, and which purchases get 1.5% and which don't. I'm thinking about opening up a new card, but I need to know what the exemptions are, before paying the credit agencies to unlock my credit information.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from People man, people! I can say that I have had only 1 bad experience with one rep, and that was today. The other two people I spoke with were very well informed and clearly wanted to figure out what was going on. One bad apple and all. But overall great service.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product No experience yet, New memberHope to have good experience
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service had no problems very nice know several people that deal with PSECU they say they are great to deal with
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PSECU is the best!!! We've been banking with PSECU for twenty(20) years now. We have never had an issue, of any kind. Always a positive experience. Anyone that can bank with PSECU should do so.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Eveything PSECU is an amazing credit union. They have always led the field in technology services, have friendly, efficient Member Services, and offer a great variety of products and services. They are the only financial institution you need!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot ask for much more. No hassle checking and savings accounts. Wonderful service.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't have survived without thePSECU! The PSECU has been there for me for me for over 20 years. I started with the DOC with no money saves, and no credit score. With excellent auto loans, personal loans and easily accessible cash, I have managed to prosper, get ahead and retire in comfort. Too this day I have never actually met an employee of the Union. Thank you for being there for me
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Credit Union ever! I've been with PSECU for 26 years, and I've never wanted to leave. I've checked out other credit unions, and this is the best by far. What other bank shares profits with you. They will always be the best in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-11-22
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_personal-checking, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_psecu
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
To open a Checking Account, you must establish a PSECU membership by opening a Savings Share Account and maintain a $5 minimum Savings Share balance.

Rates and information are subject to change at any time. Fees could reduce earnings on the account(s). The disclosed dividend rates are variable and may change after the member opens the account(s). Regular Share Accounts require a minimum balance of $5 to open the account. Money Market accounts require a minimum of $500 to earn the advertised APY.
*You can earn $.10 cash rewards on eligible purchases of $10 or over with a PSECU checking account and one or more qualifying monthly direct deposits totaling at least $500. You can earn $.05 cash rewards on eligible purchases of $10 or over for accounts with a PSECU checking account. Certain restrictions may apply. See the Visa® Debit Card Rewards Program Terms and Conditions for full details.
**Dividends are what you may think of as "interest.” PSECU uses the average daily balance to calculate dividends. A periodic rate is applied to the average daily balance in the account for each day in the dividend period.
***PSECU is not a credit reporting agency. Members must have PSECU checking or a PSECU loan to be eligible for this service. Joint Owners are not eligible.

Apple, the Apple logo, Apple Pay, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Touch ID are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

Android, Google Pay, and the Android Logo are trademarks of Google Inc.

©2017 Samsung Electronics America, Inc. Samsung, Samsung Pay, Samsung Gear, Galaxy S and Gear S (and other device names) are trademarks or registered trademarks of Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. Use only in accordance with law. Other company and product names mentioned may be trademarks of their respective owners. Samsung Pay is available on select Samsung devices.

Important: When using debit (point-of-sale) transactions with PSECU Visa debit card, you must have available funds in your checking account or your transaction will be declined. Overdraft Protection Transfer Service does not apply to debit transactions. Loan options are treated as cash advances and are subject to those rates and accrue interest immediately. If you did not choose an option when you set up your account, PSECU will automatically set up overdraft transfers from your Regular Shares.